dotvast.blogg.se

Sugar story meaning
Sugar story meaning









sugar story meaning

When Baba dies, Tara lashes out, slapping the seven-year-old Antara and calling her “a fat little bitch”. What interests her is how, in these squalid circumstances, Tara finds liberation, and how hard it is for Antara to distinguish between her mother’s pursuit of self-determination and acts of selfishness. The ashram scenes are, by far, the most intriguing part of the novel, but Doshi, disappointingly, doesn’t allow us to linger here, refusing perhaps to indulge any readerly appetite for exoticism or prurience. Writing from Antara’s perspective, Doshi allows us to see the scene both through the lens of her childish incomprehension and as a strange mysticism. In the most skilled parts of the novel, she describes the bizarre behaviour of the worshippers – the foolishly laughing, clapping, bare-breasted devotees writhing on floors, the western “dabblers” who wear jeans under their kurtas, the tearful women who clutch at Baba’s feet.

Sugar story meaning series#

Photograph: 2020 Booker Prize/Sharon Haridas/PAĭoshi only vaguely names the enigmatic guru “Baba”, but the shadowy activities she describes at the ashram resemble those of the followers of the controversial Bhagwan Shree Rajneesh (documented in the Netflix series Wild Wild Country). exploring the suffocations of motherhood. She takes Antara with her and Doshi painfully details the child’s unattended thirst and hunger, the damp mattress in the courtyard on which she sleeps and the nightly shrieking of the guru’s frenzied followers.Īvni Doshi. The young Antara, by contrast, is powerless when Tara leaves the family home to take up permanent residence at the ashram. They live in a modern apartment, do lines of coke at parties and lunch at a private members’ club. Set in the city of Pune in west India, the novel alternates between scenes of the past in which the young Antara suffers distress and neglect, and the present day in which the adult Antara is prosperous, middle-class and recently married to Dilip. “I would be lying if I said my mother’s misery has never given me pleasure,” she admits coolly. It’s Antara’s internal conflict that forms the novel’s central theme: how do you take care of a mother who once failed to take care of you? Antara examines the question with a self-inspection so unflinching that it makes you catch your breath. Karma comes in many ways and sometimes it is through art.Three decades on, when Tara develops dementia, the adult Antara takes her into her home. Stay true to yourself and keep it moving. The truth always comes out in every situation. MK: I hope this song reaches women who may feel powerless and used. SH: Is there anything else you 'd like to add? So styling the video was definitely my favorite part. Being creative with fashion is always my favorite thing to do. I styled myself for the video and I love doing that. MK: I always love getting glammed up! My glam team is so awesome. SH: Do you have a favorite memory from shooting the music video? I didn 't want the video to be as dark as the song. I thought the Alice in Wonderland theme was a perfect mesh of mysterious but still light and fun. The song 's track is very dark and mysterious. I love glam, I love imagination and I love a twist. MK: I have always loved fantasy world-style videos. Why did that seem like the perfect theming for this music video? " Because it 's true!Ī post shared by MK It seems Alice in Wonderland was a big influence in the music video. MK: "We all got issues, mine was being with you. SH: Do you have a favorite lyric from the track? I was in the studio by myself when I wrote this and I was asking myself, "What would Beyoncé do right now? " and that 's when "Sugar " was born! Being a female in such a male-dominated industry, it 's very hard to speak your mind without being put down. SH: Was writing and recording this song an empowering experience for you? Going to therapy is always a good option. Even if you turn those emotions into art, there will always be those emotions in the back of your mind that will haunt you. I always recommend therapy as well for mental health purposes. I don 't know if that 's a good thing or a bad thing! It helps a lot though.

sugar story meaning

That 's always been my way of coping with things. A post shared by MK What are your personal favorite ways to move on from a bad situation and embrace the positive?











Sugar story meaning